Call for entries for the Hans and Lea Grundig Prize 2019

A prize named in commemoration of the artists Hans Grundig (1901–1958) and Lea Grundig (1906–1977), under the patronage of the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation will be awarded for artistic and art historical achievement, as well as for achievement in the communication of art. Applications should be submitted by March 31, 2019.

A diasporist lives and paints in two or more societies at once. Diasporic art is contradictory at its heart, being both internationalist and particularist. It can be inconsistent, which is a major blasphemy against the logic of much art education, because life in Diaspora is often inconsistent and tense; schismatic contradiction animates each day.

(R.B. Kitaj’s “Diasporist Manifesto”, 1988)

The category Artistic Projects welcomes completed and already exhibited contemporary contributions that reflect on R.B. Kitaj’s diasporist philosophy: contradiction, resistance, migration, flight, and exile — ever more people live in different societies concurrently and create art that in its radicalness is political.

The category Art Historical Works welcomes research that focuses on the analysis and exploration of the diasporic in the work of artists who have personally experienced persecution and enforced exile. Especially welcome are contributions on the themes “Proletarian Revolutionary Art”, “Verism in the 20th century”, “Exile Art in Palestine/Israel”, as well as “Jewish Artists in Divided Postwar Germany”.

The category Communication of Art welcomes submissions addressing curatorial projects that communicate research and works concerned with socio-critical art practices of the 20th and 21st century.

This prize has been granted bi-annually since 2015. The award consists of 10,000 Euros in total, which may be bestowed in all three of the aforementioned areas. The jury will reserve its right to decide on how the prize money should be distributed. Only already completed or published works will be considered for the prize.

Applications should be submitted in German or English in digital form by March 31, 2019 to: A statement of max. 1.500 signs should be included. Please send us a link for downloading data of more than 3 MB. Additional material might be sent via mail and will not be sent back (address on inquiry).

Any recourse to courts of law is excluded. The prizes will be awarded on November 7, 2019 at the NS-Dokumentationszentrum in Munich, Germany.

The Jury
Members of the jury are: Dr. Thomas Flierl (historian of architecture, freelance author and publicist, Berlin), Dr. Eckhart Gillen (freelance art historian and curator, Berlin), Henning Heine (Department of Political Communication at the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, Berlin), Kathleen Krenzlin (art historian and head of the Galerie Parterre Berlin and Kunstsammlung Pankow), Luise Schröder (artist/art educator, Leipzig), Dr. habil. Rosa von der Schulenburg (art historian and Head of Fine Art Collection, Akademie der Künste, Berlin), Rachel Stern (curator / Founding Director and CEO, The Fritz Ascher Society, New York City, prize winner 2017), Dr. habil. Angelika Timm (analyst for Middle Eastern affairs, Liaison Lecturer of the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, Berlin), Prof. Dr. Ines Weizman (theorist and historian of architecture, Professor, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, prize winner 2015).

Co-ordination: Dr. Oliver Sukrow (art historian, Assistant Professor, TU Wien, Austria).